Tags

, , , ,

Short Story/Flash Fiction Challenge from Rachael Harrie’s 3rd Writer Campaign
“Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, including a poem. Begin the story with the words, “The door swung open” These four words will be included in the word count.If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional), use the same beginning words and end with the words: “the door swung shut.” (also included in the word count)For those who want an even greater challenge, make your story 200 words EXACTLY!”
Here’s my entry (double the challenge: 200 words, opening and closing sentences):
If you like it, Please visit and click the like. I’m #157. Thank you!
I also want to see how the reader interprets this piece. How I envision this “door” is one thing, but the intent of this piece is to get the reader to think of their own interpretation of what that door represents, and did the person go through it, or not?! Let me know in the comments how you interpret it. I find other people’s ideas fascinating! Thanks!
TheChoice
The door swung open. I had a choice to make. There was only one chance to walk through. My time had come and if I did not chose I would be stuck here forever.
 One world I’d known all my life. It was quite,comfortable, safe. My friends and family had long since passed through their doors. There was no one left for company. I’d fallen into an habitual life. But it was mine. Something I was used to. Change scared me.
The other offered the unknown. It was new, exciting, terrifying. What was on the other side? Would there be others waiting for me? If I stayed here, I would never know. But if I went, it may be worse than what I already had. Is my life over? Or just begun? There were so many conflicting questions racing through my mind. But I knew I must choose, and choose quickly.
The sun shone on both sides of the door. One side was winter white and chilled to the bone, while the colors began to mute. The other warmed deep into the soul as vibrant colors swirled,contrasting, balancing equity.
I made my choice as the door swung shut.
