Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My Home Workspace

My Home Workspace

This is my last three day weekend until the end of May. I really do not like the first six months of the year. They always seem to drag because of the lack of holidays. And this year, at work, it’s going to be all kinds of crazy. There have been 15 added sites to my schedule and the projects will hit all at once.

I have found it quite difficult to write at home with so many distractions. My husband, my son, my cats, TV, xBox, chores…you know the drill. And, I am not one to make resolutions or goals. I know me well enough to know I lack the motivation after a couple of weeks or so. I have always been an instant gratification type and if I couldn’t accomplish the perfect image I had in my head, I gave up quickly. It happens every single time. But with the encouragement I have gotten with #writemotivation, I’ve actually managed to accomplish something. And maybe a little bit more than I hoped.

Here’s my update on the goals I’ve posted on KT Hanna’s site:

Goals for January 2012:
1) By Jan, 20th I need to complete and submit the 713 Challenge entry @ KazkaPress √ Completed 1/8/2012
2) work a bit more on my novel. No particular goal really as I just need to write some more, and work out more of the plot. (How’s that for ambiguous?) See below.
3) By the end of January I’d like to have completed the beta read for a certain someone. √ Completed 1/13/2012
4) complete the blog posts for this challenge. Only 2 more to go! 😀

The thing I’ve noticed lately is that I’ve done something writer-ly every single day this year so far. That’s 16 days in a row! It was such a pleasant surprise when I realized it. I’m so proud of myself. I want to keep it up. But I’m not making it a resolution, or a goal. Just something I plan on striving for, even if it’s 10 words, or 1000 words. I want to keep writing, something, every day.

I found Michael Hayes’ post about his Seinfeld Chain very inspiring. I’ve been following him when he posted the first one over 4 months ago. I didn’t think I could do something like that. But here I am, actually doing something every day. I don’t want to add a goal of word count to that chain for my progress, since I’m working on brainstorming, plotting, mapping, and structuring a novel. I just want to keep at doing something writer-ly. I think that’s a good goal, don’t you?!

My Whiteboard & Workspace

My Whiteboard & Workspace

To help me overcome my fear of novel-writing, I’ve purchased Scrivener and began the daunting task of learning it. The whole “outline” thing is still killing me. But, I’ve managed a lot more in the last 2 weeks than I ever had before. I’ve also purchased a whiteboard so hubs can help me brainstorm. I love him so!

