Tags

, , , , ,

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was my first encounter with first person, present tense POV. It took a little getting used to because I am so interested in getting into the heads of/the psychology of all the other characters. First person POV did not afford me that opportunity.However, I did find that Ms. Collins managed to get me deep into the head of Katniss. She made me indifferent to some characters while remaining standoffish to others. I think she pulled this off quite nicely. The present tense provided a more immediate feel for the situation. The tension was good. The pacing was good. I found myself not wanting to put it down, even when real life called.

Overall, I loved this story. It is very reminiscent of Lord of the Flies and Running Man, with a hint of Romeo and Juliet. A struggle for survival. Playing a game of life or death, and only one can emerge the victor. I’m not big on the whole romance thing, though. At least it wasn’t dripping in it. Not sure how that will play out in the following two books, though. But we’ll see.

The only real problem I had with the story, and it really is a minor one, is that it was too predictable. I pretty much figured everything out. Like I said, this is a minor irritant. After all, the book’s intended audience is for the “Young Adult”, not someone like me. The overall story, the characters, the plot, everything was rather enjoyable and I wanted to keep reading even when life got in the way. I will be reading the other two books soon enough.

View all my reviews

